Beauty Store Business

FEB 2015

For beauty business news, beauty store owners turn to Beauty Store Business. Beauty business trends, beauty business profiles and more!

Issue link: http://beautystorebusiness.epubxp.com/i/444071

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 61 of 83

60 February 2015 | beautystorebusiness.com Beauty Store Business: Please tell us about the history of Olivia Garden. JEAN RENNETTE: I was a schoolteacher and a professional water-ski instructor— but, most of all, I was really interested in the business world. Then I met my wife, Micheline, a hairdresser and an esthe- tician, and she introduced me to the fascinating beauty industry. In 1967, we identified a new, up-and-coming market trend for wigs and hairpieces, and we founded Olivia Garden. Although I was a teacher with tenure, I quit my job and embarked on our adventure. Since the beginning of Olivia Garden, we have always been at the forefront of innovation. To start, we were one of the first worldwide to launch high-quality syn- thetic wigs and hairpieces. With no prior manufacturing experience, I went to Hong Kong and opened our own wig factory. For distribution, we had our own sales force visiting all the Belgian hair salons. Meanwhile, in the department stores, we had retail booths with our own sales team. In 1974, we launched the Clairol hair- color line in Belgium through our existing sales force. In 1976, we widely promoted eco-friendly, nonaerosol products to protect the ozone layer and to prevent climate change. We were nearly 40 years ahead of today's awareness! We also innovated in marketing and sales incentives. For example, in 1974, we organized a promotional trip with 252 Belgian hairdressers for five days to New York City, visiting all the famous salons there such as Paul Mitchell, Lin- termans and Seligman & Latz at Saks Fifth Ave. And, in 1976, we returned to New York for the World Championships of Hairdressing. In 1978, we started focusing on expanding our export distri